Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Follow Me on Pinterest

Peet’s Coffee & Tea Gluten Free Info

February 1, 2011 by  
Filed under News, Restaurant Reviews

Here’s the gluten free information sent to me from Peet’s Coffee & Tea Customer Service on February 1, 2011. There is currently no GF information on their website, but they are prompt about providing it when asked. It is directly quoted unless otherwise noted.

  • All of our coffees are produced without gluten and in a plant that does not process or share equipment with glutinous items.
  • Our teas, and herbals (black, green, Oolong, white, and herbals) are made without gluten ingredients. The only exception would be our Genmai Cha which contains roasted rice kernels, so this tea would contain rice gluten, which is generally considered “safe gluten”.
  • Our Dutch Cocoa powder and syrup are both made without gluten ingredients. Our syrup is a mixture of sweeteners and Dutch Cocoa (which is ground cocoa) as well.
  • The additional ingredients used in our various bar beverages (milk, Freddo powder, cocoa powder, and all of our other syrups) are all made without gluten ingredients.
  • Our Pacific Soy Milk is made with organic soybeans, is both gluten free, and casein free.
  • The only item I would recommend avoiding is the Godiva Freddo, as we do not produce the chocolate for this beverage, and cannot speak to the condition of the plant where it is produced. (Note from Gluten Freeville: Since common pitchers are used for Freddo’s, it would be wise to ask them to clean the pitcher before making yours)

This also from Customer Service: “We are aware that many of our customers have to avoid gluten, and we have been actively looking into offering some gluten-free baked goods”

Check and see where the nearest Peet’s Coffee & Tea is located.

Comments

11 Responses to “Peet’s Coffee & Tea Gluten Free Info”
  1. Heather says:

    Did they say anything about offering gluten free edibles any time soon?

  2. Nancy says:

    No they didn’t :(

  3. Paul says:

    What is a freddo & does that mean their mocha’s are gluten-free ?

  4. Nancy says:

    Sounds like the mocha’s are gluten free – syrup and coffee are. From their website – Freddo’s are “The rich taste of freshly brewed coffee, creamy milk and natural ingredients, perfectly blended with ice.”

  5. Lindsay says:

    A freddo is comparable to a Starbucks frappaccino(sp?) except it actually tastes like coffee.

  6. Briana says:

    Some Peet’s now offer wheat-free pastries! They can’t be considered certified gluten-free because of cross contamination with other pastries, but it’s a start!

  7. Tracy says:

    So are the k-cups glutten free as well?

  8. Nancy says:

    According to their website, the K-cups are gluten free.

  9. Jim says:

    I cannot find anything about the ingredients in freddo powder. It’s just listed as freddo powder, and, so it’s gluten free, but what else is in it besides sugar, and what kind of sugar? It’s very addictive and I need to know what I’m slurping down. Thank you.

  10. Nancy says:

    Jim- here’s what I found:

    The ingredients list is as follows:

    sugar
    maltodextrin
    vanilla powder
    cocoa powder
    xanthan gum
    guar gum
    salt
    silicon dioxide (as an anticaking agent)

Trackbacks

Check out what others are saying about this post...
  1. buying instagram followers

    PeetÂ’s Coffee & Tea Gluten Free Info | Gluten Freeville



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

Get Adobe Flash player