Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Follow Me on Pinterest

What CAN I Eat?

July 7, 2010 by  
Filed under Articles, Featured

What can I eat on a Gluten Free diet?

Many foods that you already eat are gluten free! Foods that are usually gluten free:

  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits
  • Most dairy products (milk, cheeses, yogurts)
  • Nuts
  • Most Peanut Butter
  • Most jams/preserves
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Vegetables

Safe Grains, Starches & Seeds: Experimenting with some of these ingredients can be a fun way to come up with new recipes. The more unusual ones can usually be purchased online, at health food and specialty stores, but are seen more and more at mainstream grocery store chains.

  • Almond
  • Amaranth
  • Aromatic rice
  • Arrowroot
  • Basmati rice
  • Brown rice, Brown rice flour
  • Buckwheat
  • Canola
  • Cassava
  • Chestnut
  • Chickpea
  • Corn, corn flour, corn gluten, corn malt, cornmeal, cornstarch, pure corn tortillas
  • Enriched rice
  • Fava bean
  • Flax, flax seeds
  • Garbanzo
  • Glutinous rice (glutinous simply means sticky)
  • Hominy
  • Instant rice
  • Millet
  • Modified corn starch
  • Modified tapioca starch
  • Nut flours
  • Oats – labeled Gluten Free (Most oats are contaminated with wheat unless they are specially grown and processed and labeled Gluten Free)
  • Peanut flour
  • Polenta
  • Potato flour, potato starch
  • Quinoa
  • Red rice
  • Rice, rice bran, rice flour
  • Risotto
  • Sesame
  • Sorghum
  • Soy, soybean, tofu (soya)
  • Starch (made from safe grains)
  • Sunflower Seed
  • Sweet rice flour
  • Tapioca
  • Taro flour
  • Teff
  • Wild rice

There are also Gluten Free versions for just about every food you will have to give up to be on a Gluten Free diet – pastas, pizza, cookies, cakes, and even soy sauce and beer. And yes, there is great bread! Check here for reviews of some GREAT gluten free products.

You can COOK gluten free – don’t be afraid of trying new flours. There are over 200 easy recipes here: Gluten Freeville Recipes

Helpful: 7 Restaurant Tips for Gluten Free Dining

BUY THIS BOOK: Cecilia’s Gluten Free Shopping Guide until you figure out what brands at you local grocery stores are gluten free. It lists over 37,000 items that you may find and already buy at your local stores that are gluten free. Always read labels, but check here for your starting point.

Four ingredients that MAY contain gluten:

(From are on both posts of what to avoid and what to eat. Be careful when you see these on an ingredient list as they can be hidden sources of gluten.

Vitamin E can use wheat germ as its source. You can check with the manufacturer and they should be able to tell you the source of the vitamin that they use.

Caramel color is manufactured by heating carbohydrates and is produced from sweeteners.  Although gluten-containing ingredients can be used, they are not used in North America; corn is most often used, however it is important to check with food manufacturers.

Maltodextrin is [usually] made from cornstarch, potato starch, or rice starch.

A note about oats: Historically, oats were not recommended because it was thought that avenin (the storage protein found in oats) was also toxic to gluten-intolerant individuals. However, recent research in Europe and the US has described that oats are well-tolerated by most children and adults when consumed in moderation and do not contribute to abdominal symptoms, nor prevent intestinal healing. PLEASE NOTE: regular, commercially available oats are frequently contaminated with wheat or barley. However, “pure, uncontaminated” oats have recently become available from several companies in the US and Canada. These companies’ process oats in dedicated facilities and their oats are tested for purity. Pure, uncontaminated oats can be consumed safely in quantities < 1 cup per day.  It is important that you talk to your physician and your registered dietitian prior to starting oats. It is recommended that people with celiac disease meet with a registered dietitian who is educated in the disease and the gluten free diet.  These are only general guidelines. Long-term, it is critical to monitor the diet not only to ensure that gluten is completely out of the diet, but also to ensure that critical nutrients are being absorbed.


13 Responses to “What CAN I Eat?”
  1. melinda stanley says:

    I am reading here on your website that you have polenta and corn starches listed as safe gluten free foods to eat.
    When has them listed as No-No foods and No-No additives.

    Why would you list ingredients that are no no’s? I trust WebMD a bit more.

  2. Nancy says:
    From Web MD-
    “Do eat:
    * Amaranth
    * Quinoa
    * Buckwheat
    * Popcorn
    * Cornmeal (polenta and tortillas)
    * Millet
    * Breads, cereals, crackers, and pasta made of corn, rice, potato, soy, arrowroot, tapioca, sago, flax, and hominy.”

    Corn starch and corn products are listed on most celiac and gluten free sites, by most experts, and in most GF cookbooks as safe gluten free foods (including WebMD). I would suggest you consult your doctor on what you should eat personally. These are only guidelines, but my research shows that corn contains different gluten structures than wheat, barley and rye, and therefore, are safe GF foods unless you have a corn intolerance. “It is recommended that people with celiac disease meet with a registered dietitian who is educated in the disease and the gluten free diet.”

  3. Mary says:

    Just wandering if beans are gluten free, reading a lot of different information and you have only listed soy and fava…Are black beans pintos lentils…etc gluten free as well?

  4. Nancy says:

    Hi Mary-

    All beans are gluten free.

    Read labels only if you are eating canned or frozen beans in a sauce. The sauce may contain gluten.

  5. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.

  6. You really mmake it seem so easy with your presentation buut I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get
    the hang of it!

  7. What’s up, all the time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the daylight, for
    the reason that i love to find out more and more.

  8. Elaine says:

    There are also 30 different creatures to
    be captured. Your memory is the most important resource
    on your Smartphone, and how it is used can drastically affect performance.
    A jump can be executed in mid-air, provided that the bus drove off a
    bridge first.

  9. Good post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte
    more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a
    little bit further. Kudos!

  10. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles or reviews every day along with a
    mug of coffee.

  11. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you need to publish more about this topic, it might
    not be a taboo subject but generally people do not speak about
    these topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  12. Lieselotte says:

    Hello there I am so excited I found your blog page, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was looking on Google for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep
    up the excellent work.


Check out what others are saying about this post...
  1. […] What CAN I Eat? – Gluten Freeville – Gluten free diet and … – What can I eat on a Gluten Free diet? … Wild rice; There are also Gluten Free versions for just about every food you will have to give up to be on a Gluten … Be careful when you see these on an ingredient list as they can be hidden sources of gluten. Vitamin E can use wheat germ as its source. […]

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

Get Adobe Flash player