2012 Gluten Free Ham List
Many newly gluten free folks may wonder why a list is needed for gluten free ham. Ham is meat and meat is gluten free, right? Well, yes and no. Hams usually have a yummy, crunchy, sweet glaze atop them that often contains wheat.
If your ham comes with a glaze packet for you to add, it’s simple to leave it off and make your own. Each year I notice more companies who used to include wheat in the glaze, now make it gluten free. ALWAYS check your glaze ingredients on a ham.
Most major grocery chain stores have a list of gluten free products at the customer service desk that applies to their location. Start there to find out which hams may be safe for you to buy.
Here is a list of some hams that claim to be gluten free. Again, check the glaze ingredients anyway, just to be sure.
Click the company name for a link to their website or gluten free information.
All natural and made with no added nitrites or nitrates, no MSG, no preservatives, uncured.
Spiral Cut Ham – Hickory Smoked – Bone In, Hickory Smoked – Boneless
From their website: “All Boar’s Head Brand® Meats, Cheeses and Condiments, as well as Hans Jurgen® Pickles are Gluten Free.”
Boneless Canned Ham (Walgreens)
Applewood-Smoked Bone-In Heritage Ham and Boneless Heritage Ham are gluten free and organic on their website.
The Hams don’t contain gluten, but make your own glaze. Their glaze packets contain wheat. Farmer John® Boneless Hams – Golden Tradition Premium Original Whole and Half, Golden Tradition Black Forest Premium Black Forest, Pee Wee Half, Golden Tradition Premium Tradition Brown Sugar and Honey, Golden Tradition, Canless Honey Ham (glaze packets contain wheat)
Farmer John® Bone In Hams – Premium Butt and Shank Portions, Premium Gold Wrap, Premium Sliced Ham Steaks, Premium Spiral Sliced, Premium Half, Premium Spiral Sliced Half, Whole (glaze packets contain wheat)
FIVE STAR BRAND
Smoked Boneless Cottage Ham
HARRY & DAVID
Harry & David Hams list no gluten ingredients.
Here is their allergen statement: “Harry & David Operations, Inc. is in compliance with the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (Title II of Public Law 108-282) as of January 1, 2006. Harry & David is 100% compliant with the new Act as currently defined.
We have contacted our ingredient suppliers to insure that all ingredients are declared on the label. Therefore, to the best of our knowledge, our labels list all ingredients. For those with peanut allergies, we also include a disclaimer stating “May contain trace amounts of other nuts or allergens not listed in the ingredients”. Also, since Gluten and other allergens are found in wheat and some other grain products, we encourage you to read the ingredient information carefully and determine if the product is appropriate for your consumption. If you cannot locate an ingredient label on the product you received, contact us with the product name or item number and we will gladly research the information for you.”
“ Our ham and glaze do not contain gluten.” (Yes, they used to contain gluten, but it’s been out of the recipe for a couple of years according to the company rep I have spoken to.)
JONES DAIRY FARM
Ham Steaks, Dainty Ham Hickory Smoked, Half Family Ham, Whole Family Ham, Old Fashioned Hickory Smoked, Whole Short Shanked Hickory Smoked, Whole Country Club Ham
Kirkland Signature Applewood Smoked Spiral Sliced Hickory Ham
Publix Ham, Hickory Smoked Ham, Semi-Boneless, fully cooked, Honey Cured Boneless Ham– with Brown Sugar Glaze, Honey Cured Bone-In Ham – Brown Sugar Glazed or with Brown Sugar Glaze Mix Packet
Safeway Brand Boneless Honey, Safeway Select ½ Boneless, Butcher’s Cut Shank Cut and Spiral Sliced Ham (glaze packet is not gluten free)
All of their hams and their ham glazes are free of the top 8 allergens. (Via email from the company 12/11, Lauren David Style blog) I did find one source that says the HEB Private Label Brand from Smithfield is NOT gluten free.
Wegmans Cracked Pepper Double Smoked Ham off the bone
Semi-boneless Whole Ham, Black Forest, Glazed Boneless Half, Old Fashioned Boneless, Turkey Half Ham
NOTE: This information is meant as a guide only. Ingredients change, so always check labels before buying and consuming products.